Explore Montreal: Day Four & Five

Thursday, April 20, 2017

So today was my last full day in Montreal. My aunt had been telling me about a brunch place at the base of her work building so I decided to check it out. First off, I love a good pun so this restaurant made me crack up! (yes, pun intended). Eggspectation definitely met my eggspectations! I ordered the Waffle Bacon Benedict and oh. my. gosh. guys. try. it! I thought it would be a weird sweet and salty mix but the hollandaise sauce brought it all together. The waffle itself was crispy and not traditionally sweet which helped to complement the eggs benedict. Their special hollandaise sauce was a little different than traditional hollandaise sauce. It was a little sweeter than most hollandaise sauces which tied the entire plate together. On the side, this dish was complete with fruit and their Lyonnaise-style potatoes. Paired with my morning coffee and then finished off with a morning mimosa, this breakfast/brunch plate really hit the spot.

Eggspectations was definitely one of the best breakfast places I’ve been to. They’re located around Montreal and have a couple other locations across the country and in the States as well. If possible, check out their locations and try out some of their special dishes.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

After breakfast, I took a stroll back to Rue Sainte-Catherine to shop at Simons again. I am so in love with Simons and it is unhealthy! I left with more clothes and a soft wool jacket that was on sale. I had seen it earlier this week and decided that I could not leave without it. I spent some time around the McGill campus, checking out restaurants and coffee shops around the perimeter.

Processed with VSCO with s3 preset

I ended up at Lola Rose Café which was a suggestion made by one of my close friends. It was an interesting little vegetarian comfort food restaurant. Not sure how this happened, but I ended up ordering an avocado quesadilla. Barring from the fact that I’m actually allergic to avocados, I definitely liked the quesadilla. I was not a huge fan of the rice and the salad that came with it though. Maybe I should have ordered the burritos, but I felt like my choices were limited and although it may be a great choice for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike, I personally would probably not come back here.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

By this point in my trip, I had pretty much exhausted all my monetary funds so I made a sad trek back to a Starbucks outside my hotel to catch up on some blog posts and lecture videos. For dinner, I picked up some dumplings from Qing Hua Dumplings in Chinatown and watched the Raptors game in my hotel room before crashing into a food coma.

Friday, April 21, 2017

So… I missed my train back to Toronto. I woke up probably 10 minutes before my train’s departure so I guess that was that! For someone who loves travelling, I have a reoccurring problem where I will almost miss my flight or bus, but this was my first time completely missing my departure. Fortunately, I was able to get booked onto the next train out of Montreal which left two hours after my original train.

Processed with VSCO with s1 preset

By the time I arrived in Toronto, it was noon and I was getting hungry. On a previous trip to Toronto, I has asked for sushi restaurant suggestions from my roommate’s sister, Sincerly KN (p.s. check out her blog and Instagram if you are in the Greater Toronto Area) and she had suggested Mi-Ne Sushi. I did not have time to check it out last time but I was closer to the restaurant this time around so I stopped by for a quick bite to eat before catching my next train back to London, ON.

I absolutely love house green salads from Japanese restaurants and theirs was no exception. It was amazing! Everything from the dressing to thinly sliced avocado on top. How much did I love it? I loved it so much that I ordered a second one to bring with me onto the train. I also ordered one Unagi Roll, which is probably one of my favourite things to have when I’m craving sushi. Did not disappoint! The only downside to this restaurant was the price for the quantity given, but given its location and quality, it is a price that I am willing to pay for if I am ever around here again.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

All in all, I had an amazing week in Montreal and I would love to go again to try all the places that I was not able to check out in my short time there. Thank you for following me on my little trip and I hope these have been inspiration for helping you plan your own trip to Montreal!

If you have not already done so, check out day one, two, and three!

tiffany sign off

Leave a Reply

